Save Our Teen Drivers

Advocating for driver's education changes. Educating the public on the problem. Finding a solution that saves lives.

Care about the dangers of teen driving before it effects you

Posted by lapearce on August 10, 2009

“Lance Armstrong didn’t care about cancer research until after he had cancer.”

When my sister told me this I couldn’t help but laugh at the ignorance of the comment. “Of course not,” I told her, “we only care about things until after they effect us.”

This is sad but true. Of course Lance Armstrong didn’t care about cancer research until he was diagnosed with prostate cancer. I bet he similarly gave little consideration to heart disease, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, MS or a myriad of other disorders that debilitate and kill millions each year. Similarly, a large portion of the foundations set up to inform parents and teens about the dangers of driving were set up by parents after they lost their child in a car crash.

Journey Safe was started by the parents of Gillian Sabet after their daughter was killed in a crash on her way to prom

Professional drag racer Doug Herbert started B.R.A.K.E.S. after he lost his two teen sons in a crash

Maxwell’s Pledge was created after her son was killed as a passenger in a high speed crash

Even this blog was created because I lost a wonderful neighborhood girl to a crash on December 8, 2005, a crash that I know would have been avoided with better driver’s education. Which is why I share what I have learned as a driving instructor in hopes that I can save the life of a young driver.

Doug Herbert, the founder of B.R.A.K.E.S.  said he was unaware of the dangers of teen driving until after he lost his 17 and 15 year old sons in a crash. Even though he was a professional driver he didn’t know that car crashes are responsible for 35% of teen fatalities.

A survey by Allstate found that 88% of parents think that their teen is a good driver, even though most agree that teens drive poorly. Some of these parents will learn the hard way what dangers await their young drivers. Only then will they care. Perhaps they too will start a foundation and desperately attempt to inform other parents before they too learn the hard way.

Why does it have to be this way? Car crashes kill over 5,000 teens every year. Please, for the sake of your child’s life start caring now, before it is too late.

3 Responses to “Care about the dangers of teen driving before it effects you”

  1. Teens by definition haven’t matured. Although their reaction time is better than that of mature drivers, their judgment is much poorer. As parents we need to be vigilant and keep our kids away from driving while intoxicated, speeding and talking on cell phones while driving.

    It is little wonder that car insurance is so high for teenagers. Statistics drive the costs of insurance.

    There are programs that are doing their best to reduce the numbers of tragedies that occur when young people get behind the wheel. One is the Uconn Guard Dogs. They have volunteers who will drive intoxicated students home.

    Unfortunately, there are too few groups and too many stupid immature teen drivers

  2. I think its normal to care about the thigns that personally effect you. For instance I lost my mother-in-law to lung cancer a few years back and it wasn’t until then that I felt compelled to start a lung cancer walk in my city.

    You bet I am going to do my best to educate my son about driving safe, the importance of wearing his seatbelt, not using his phone, texting or driving intoxicated. The part that scares me is that once they pull out of the driveway you’ve lost conrol. All you can do is hope that your child has HEARD you.

    My son is 15, so will br driving next year, other then being “vigilant” how can I keep him safe on the road?

  3. I think its normal to care about the things that personally effect you. For instance I lost my mother-in-law to lung cancer a few years back and it wasn’t until then that I felt compelled to start a lung cancer walk in my city.

    You bet I am going to do my best to educate my son about driving safe, the importance of wearing his seatbelt, not using his phone, texting or driving intoxicated. The part that scares me is that once they pull out of the driveway you’ve lost conrol. All you can do is hope that your child has HEARD you.

    My son is 15, so will br driving next year, other then being “vigilant” how can I keep him safe on the road?

Leave a Reply

 
